Nucleus of the cardiometabolic-exposures cluster. WHO 2012, all recommendations strong. The word conditional does not appear in the document.

The recommendations

“WHO recommends a reduction in sodium intake to reduce blood pressure and risk of cardiovascular disease, stroke and coronary heart disease in adults (strong recommendation). WHO recommends a reduction to <2 g/day sodium (5 g/day salt) in adults (strong recommendation).” (World Health Organization, 2012)

For children: reduce to control blood pressure (strong), with the adult 2 g/day figure “adjusted downward based on the energy requirements of children relative to those of adults” — a scaling rule, with no outcome evidence and no certainty rating attached to it.

No certainty rating is attached to any recommendation line — certainty lives only in the per-outcome tables and an Annex 8 bullet list.

The narrow, checked contrast with a later WHO guideline. WHO’s 2023 SFA/TFA guideline uses the same bare “(strong recommendation)” form on its recommendation lines — there is no (strong recommendation, moderate-certainty evidence) pairing in it, zero occurrences. What SFA 2023 does add is an overall certainty stated per recommendation in its Rationale (“The overall certainty in the evidence for recommendation 1 was moderate, and for recommendation 2 was very low”); this 2012 guideline issues no overall certainty anywhere. (World Health Organization, 2023)

The evidence split — this is the whole story

OutcomeEffect (95% CI)DesignCertainty
Resting SBP3.39 mmHg lower (2.46 to 4.31)36 RCTs, 49 comparisons, n=6736HIGH
Resting DBP1.54 mmHg lower (0.98 to 2.11)36 RCTsHIGH
Ambulatory SBP5.51 mmHg lower (3.16 to 7.87)6 studiesHIGH
All-cause mortalityRR 1.06 (0.94 to 1.20) — inconclusive7 cohorts, n=21 515VERY LOW
StrokeRR 1.24 (1.08 to 1.43)10 cohorts, n=72 878VERY LOW
Cardiovascular diseaseRR 1.12 (0.93 to 1.34) — inconclusive9 cohorts, n=46 483VERY LOW
Coronary heart diseaseRR 1.04 (0.86 to 1.24) — inconclusive6 cohorts, n=37 343VERY LOW
Cardiovascular diseaseRR 0.84 (0.57 to 1.23) — inconclusive2 RCTs, n=720MODERATE

(World Health Organization, 2012)

The surrogate is rated HIGH; most — not all — hard cohort outcomes are rated VERY LOW. The exception matters and the table above omitted it: fatal stroke, RR 1.63 (1.27-2.10), is rated LOW, and fatal coronary heart disease, RR 1.32 (1.13-1.53), is the other statistically significant cohort result. Both were left out while the four null rows were listed — an omission running in the direction of the surrogate high, hard outcomes very low reading, which is exactly the direction such omissions tend to run. WHO’s own summary states the split: “Higher sodium intake was associated with higher risk of incident stroke, fatal stroke and fatal coronary heart disease. There was no association between sodium intake and all-cause mortality, incident cardiovascular disease and non-fatal coronary heart disease.” (World Health Organization, 2012)

But note the last row: a 2-RCT meta-analysis of cardiovascular disease is rated moderate — direct hard-outcome RCT evidence, above the cohort floor, though its interval is wide and null. WHO summarizes the split itself:

“The evidence regarding the relationship between sodium intake and blood pressure was of high quality, whereas the evidence regarding sodium intake and all-cause mortality, cardiovascular disease, stroke and coronary heart disease was of lower quality. Therefore, these recommendations should be reviewed when more evidence… becomes available.” (World Health Organization, 2012)

The published RCT meta-analysis behind the effect [2026-07-31, He 2013]

WHO 2012 is a recommendation summary whose four underpinning systematic reviews are unpublished in-house documents (this page’s Limits). He, Li & MacGregor 2013 (BMJ; a Cochrane SR + meta-analysis) is a published, verifiable, gold-tier RCT meta-analysis of the same sodium->BP effect, so the effect leg no longer rests on a recommendation summary alone. 34 RCTs, 3230 participants, modest reduction (>=4 weeks), pooled salt reduction achieved -75 mmol/24h (~4.4 g/day salt, close to the public-health target).

StratumSBP (95% CI), I2DBP (95% CI), I2trials / n
All-4.18 mmHg (-5.18 to -3.18), I2=75%-2.06 (-2.67 to -1.45), I2=68%34 / 3230
Hypertensive-5.39 mmHg (-6.62 to -4.15), I2=61%-2.82 (-3.54 to -2.11), I2=52%22 / 990
Normotensive-2.42 mmHg (-3.56 to -1.29), I2=66%-1.00 (-1.85 to -0.15), I2=66%12 / 2240

(He et al., 2013)

«A modest reduction in salt intake for four or more weeks causes significant and, from a population viewpoint, important falls in blood pressure in both hypertensive and normotensive individuals, irrespective of sex and ethnic group. Salt reduction is associated with a small physiological increase in plasma renin activity, aldosterone, and noradrenaline and no significant change in lipid concentrations.» (He et al., 2013)

This is NOT independent backing of WHO — the check is the reference trail, again. He/MacGregor studies sit inside WHO’s cited evidence base (established in the ESC section below), and He 2013’s own included trials (MacGregor 1982/1989, Cappuccio 1997, He 2009, Swift 2005 …) are the same primary work. So this is the primary systematic evidence in the same lineage, not a second witness — type F / shared-evidence, no [E-independent]. The magnitudes even differ from WHO’s pooled figures (He’s SBP -4.18 vs WHO’s 36-RCT/49-comparison -3.39), which confirms they are different pooled sets, not the identical analysis: He 2013 is a verifiable SR the page can cite for the effect, not the literal document WHO distilled. (inferred from He et al., 2013; World Health Organization, 2012)

What it does and does not move. It raises the warrant on the BP-effect leg (a published gold SR now stands behind the surrogate). It does not touch this page’s hard-outcome certainty split — He’s hard-outcome claims (a re-pooled CV-events -20%, the Strazzullo cohort meta) are advocacy re-analyses (competing interest below), not graded outcome evidence — so confidence: stays medium and the surrogate high, hard outcomes very low reading is unchanged.

Competing interest, disclosed and material to the interpretive claims. FH is a member and GM the chairman of CASH / WASH (salt-reduction advocacy charities). The RCT-pooled BP effect is hard data and taken at face value; the interpretive extensions — the «3 g/day … long term target», the J-curve dismissal, the CV re-analyses — are advocacy-shaped and are caveated at point of use (symmetric standards: a favourable-direction source gets the same scrutiny as an unfavourable one).

The dose-response is significant, monotone, and estimated — where WHO’s was declared absent

WHO read its by-intake-band gradient as null (P=0.17) and concluded the effect is «independent of baseline sodium intake». He asks a different question — the magnitude of reduction achieved vs the BP fall — and finds a significant gradient: a 100 mmol/24h reduction (6 g/day salt) -> SBP -5.8 mmHg (2.5 to 9.2, P=0.001) adjusted for age, ethnic group and BP status (68% of between-study variance); steeper in hypertensives (-10.8 mmHg per 100 mmol) than normotensives (-4.3). These are not contradictory — WHO’s is baseline-intake-as-modifier, He’s is dose-of-reduction-vs-response — and both point the same decision way: no plateau in the studied range, larger reduction buys more.

«The observed significant association between the reduction in 24 hour urinary sodium and the fall in systolic blood pressure, indicates that larger reductions in salt intake will lead to larger falls in systolic blood pressure. The current recommendations to reduce salt intake from 9-12 to 5-6 g/day will have a major effect on blood pressure, but a further reduction to 3 g/day will have a greater effect and should become the long term target for population salt intake.» (He et al., 2013)

Width caveat (author’s own): the meta-regression dose-response «should be viewed as exploratory and could be prone to confounding» — a between-study (ecological) estimate; He flags that individual- participant-data meta-analysis would be needed to pin it. So larger reduction -> larger fall is supported as direction/shape, not as a precise per-gram coefficient. This is the domain’s every-reduction-pays default (telos dose-response section) instantiated on a recovery-biomarker exposure. The 3 g/day target is a policy extrapolation beyond the trial range and carries the advocacy caveat above. (He et al., 2013)

Huang 2020 refines the dose-response with a duration axis — and it is the SAME lineage, not a witness [2026-07-31, Huang 2020]

Huang 2020 (BMJ; TRUE Consortium) is the He/MacGregor lineage’s larger successor133 RCTs, 12 197 participants on 24h-urinary-sodium, achieving -130 mmol -> SBP -4.26 mmHg (-4.89 to -3.62), DBP -2.07. It is NOT independent backing: FJH + GAM co-author both papers, Huang’s ref 21 is He 2013, and Huang’s search strategy is developed from He’s. So this is type F / shared-evidence — a refinement in the same lineage, no [E-independent] (same CASH/WASH advocacy interest; competing interest below). It refines He on two axes He could not resolve.

1. The naive dose-response is null; it is real only after adjusting for duration. He’s steeper between-study slope was the estimate he himself flagged «exploratory… prone to confounding» — Huang names the confounder. The raw quintile trend and the univariable meta-regression both found NO association of SBP fall with sodium-reduction magnitude (P trend=0.09; univariable coeff 0.007, 95% CI -0.002 to 0.016, P=0.106). The relation appears only after multivariable adjustment:

«Likewise, the univariable meta-regression analyses including all studies (table 1) showed no association of blood pressure effect with magnitude of sodium reduction. However, the magnitude of the change in 24 hour urinary sodium excretion was positively associated with the change in blood pressure after adjusting for intervention duration, mean age, percentage of female sex, percentage of white ethnicity, and baseline blood» (Huang et al., 2020)

adjusted slope: each 50 mmol -> SBP -1.10 mmHg (0.66-1.54), DBP -0.33 (0.04-0.63) — i.e. ~2.2/100 mmol. This is the gate-6 caution made concrete on this exposure: the monotone dose-response here is recovered by the model specification, not visible in the raw contrast — but the direction survives (adjustment reveals a positive slope, and effects persist down to baseline SBP <120, so every-reduction-pays holds and no plateau is shown).

Parameter table (op-weave 2a) — He-vs-Huang dose-response slope, matched:

ParameterHe 2013Huang 2020Same quantity?
SBP fall per 100 mmol, modest-reduction / >=2-wk trials-5.8 mmHg (2.5-9.2), between-study meta-reg~-5.8, >14-day + <=100 mmol subgroupYES — Huang states its subgroup «similar to» He’s, ref 21
SBP fall per 100 mmol, ALL trials poolednot computed (He restricted to >=4wk/modest)-2.2 mmHg (multivariable, 133 trials)NO — different trial mix (all durations vs >=4wk only)
Overall pooled SBP effect-4.18 at -75 mmol achieved (34 trials)-4.26 at -130 mmol achieved (133 trials)NO — similar mmHg at nearly double the dose = the short-trial dilution below

So the two are not in conflict: He estimated the long-trial / modest-reduction slope, Huang the across-durations slope, and Huang reproduces He’s 5.8 exactly when it restricts to He’s inclusion window. The apparent discrepancy (He 5.8 vs Huang 2.2 per 100 mmol) is the type-of-studies-included sensitivity, which is the next point.

2. The duration effect — short trials underestimate (a bias-direction finding). The overall duration relation is NULL (P trend=0.87, meta-regression NS) — it is not a longer-is-more gradient. What is real is a very-short-trial underestimate: each 50 mmol reduction bought -1.05 mmHg (0.40-1.70) SBP in <=14-day trials vs -2.13 mmHg (0.85-3.40) in longer — an ~doubling. Because 57% (77/136) of data points were <=14 days, the pooled estimate is biased downward.

«Our review identifies an approximate doubling of the effect of sodium reduction on blood pressure in studies of longer than two weeks’ duration versus shorter studies, indicating that the full effects of dietary sodium reduction require several weeks to become apparent. Very short term studies of sodium reduction are not a sound basis for drawing conclusions about the effects of sodium reduction on blood pressure and are not helpful in formulating policy recommendations for public health.» (Huang et al., 2020)

Huang reads this as a real biological lag, not a measurement artifact: short trials use very restricted diets -> sudden large reductions -> transient renin-angiotensin / sympathetic activation and adverse metabolic effects that do not persist chronically; the full effect needs several weeks (DASH-Sodium showed a larger fall at week 4 than earlier). Decision consequence for this page: the pooled surrogate effect it holds is a lower bound on the sustained effect — the chronic BP benefit of a maintained reduction is larger than a trial-duration-mixed meta-analysis shows. (inferred from Huang et al., 2020)

3. The modifier is continuous baseline SBP, not the hypertensive/normotensive dichotomy. Huang finds the BP-status dichotomy non-significant (normo/hyper P trend=0.08) while the continuous baseline-SBP gradient is significant (P trend=0.01), with effect present even at SBP <120 — and argues the dichotomy is «weak because the definition of hypertension is arbitrary». This refines the Response-heterogeneity section above (route-b effect modification): the real modifier this page should carry is a graded baseline-SBP interaction, of which the ~3:1 hypertensive:normotensive ratio is a coarsened summary. Age (older) and non-white ethnicity are independent modifiers; baseline sodium intake is NOT (P trend=0.20) — corroborating WHO’s «independent of baseline sodium intake». (Huang et al., 2020)

Competing interest (same as He’s lineage). FJH member / GAM chairman of CASH + WASH; NRCC + NC WASH; BN received salt substitute from manufacturers for other trials. The RCT-pooled effects are hard data; the pro-reduction interpretive framing (short-trial dismissal, the direct dismissal of PURE, the low-intake-artefact framing) is advocacy-shaped and read at face value only for the data, caveated for the interpretation — symmetric standards.

Lipids null — corroborates WHO’s high/no-effect rating (same lineage)

He finds no significant change in total cholesterol (+0.05, P=0.18), LDL (+0.05, P=0.11), HDL (-0.02, P=0.19) or triglycerides (+0.04, P=0.22) with modest reduction — the small physiological renin/ aldosterone/noradrenaline rises being the compensations WHO also observed. This corroborates WHO’s high-certainty, no-harmful-effect-on-lipids rating (this page’s Limits), but through the same He/MacGregor lineage — a body line, not a sources:-padding independent backing. (He et al., 2013)

How the gap is bridged — a disclosed surrogate transfer

The bridge is explicit, and it is the guideline’s most consequential methodological act:

“Because of the well-established relationship between blood pressure and cardiovascular disease outcomes, the evidence of an effect of sodium on blood pressure was also considered moderate-quality evidence that reduced sodium is beneficial for reducing risk of cardiovascular disease, stroke and coronary heart disease.” (World Health Organization, 2012)

High-certainty surrogate evidence is transferred to hard outcomes one level down, and the direct very-low-certainty cohort evidence on those same outcomes is superseded rather than combined. There is no stated roll-up rule anywhere in the document — the string “overall certainty” does not occur, and no overall certainty is ever issued. The transfer rule in Annex 8 is the operative substitute.

Where this bites hardest — the <2 g/day threshold. The evidence table for that specific question carries four rows reading “There were no studies with [cardiovascular disease / stroke / coronary heart disease / all cause mortality] as an outcome which addressed this question”, each labelled (directly assessed). Annex 8 nonetheless states:

“High and moderate-quality evidence that consuming <2 g sodium/day compared with consuming >=2 g sodium/day is beneficial for reducing blood pressure and risk of cardiovascular disease, stroke and coronary heart disease in adults.” (World Health Organization, 2012)

This is not a contradiction, and “no studies” does not mean “no evidence.” Two qualifiers do the work, and both are printed on the cell itself:

  • the rows say (directly assessed), and
  • footnote 2 hangs off those very cells: “Though the effect of a decrease in sodium intake was not tested, there were 5 cohort studies that compared lower sodium intake (<2g/day) to higher sodium intake (>= 2 g/day). There was a significant increased risk of stroke in the group that consumed >=2 g/day relative to the group that consumed < 2 g/day (RR=1.30 (1.03 to 1.64)). Effects on the risk of cardiovascular disease, coronary heart disease and all cause mortality were not statistically significant.”

(World Health Organization, 2012)

So the threshold claim rests on high-certainty BP evidence at that threshold, transferred at moderate, plus 5 indirect cohort comparisons showing a stroke effect. What is absent is a directly assessed trial of the threshold against a hard outcome — which is a narrower and more accurate statement than “zero evidence.” (inferred from World Health Organization, 2012)

Response heterogeneity — measured, then deliberately not acted on

Baseline statusSBP reduction (95% CI)Certainty
Hypertensive4.06 mmHg (2.96 to 5.15), 24 studieshigh
Mixed3.41 mmHg (1.69 to 5.13), 8 studieshigh
Normotensive1.38 mmHg (0.02 to 2.74), 6 studiesmoderate

A roughly three-fold difference, which WHO records as “statistically significantly less” in normotensives — and then declines to stratify the recommendation, on a stated population-level ground: the high global prevalence of hypertension and the breadth of benefit. The reason given is a public-health-standpoint reason, not an evidentiary one (telos divergence class 1). (World Health Organization, 2012)

By baseline intake, point estimates rise monotonically with intake (1.79 -> 2.97 -> 3.07 -> 3.91 -> 5.74 mmHg across intake bands) and WHO reads the subgroup test as null (P=0.17), concluding the effect is “independent of baseline sodium intake.” A monotone gradient declared absent on a non-significant interaction test is a claim about power as much as about biology. (inferred from World Health Organization, 2012)

The J-curve — named as the reason for the review, then never adjudicated

WHO names the J-shaped hypothesis twice in framing sections, citing two 2011 cohort studies proposing that reducing sodium below 2 g/day “may be associated with increased risk of cardiovascular disease and stroke” as part of the justification for commissioning the review. Neither study is returned to anywhere in the evidence summary, the final considerations, or the annexes, and whether they were among the 15 included cohorts is not stated. The terms reverse causation, sick-quitter and U-shaped do not appear in the document. (World Health Organization, 2012)

Compounding this: the strata where a lower-arm harm is most plausible were excluded a priori — “individuals with illnesses or taking drug therapy that may lead to hyponatraemia… (e.g. patients with heart failure and those with type I diabetes)… were not considered in the review of the evidence.” (World Health Organization, 2012)

So the guideline cannot answer the J-curve question, and does not claim to. Per the expectancy test this is unprobed, not disproved — and it is the wiki’s largest open question on sodium.

He 2013 rebuts the J-curve — but from the advocacy side and without the strong check. He dismisses the two 2011 JAMA papers that WHO cited (Stolarz-Skrzypek: lower salt -> higher CV mortality; O’Donnell: a J-shaped association) as having «many methodological flaws, such as measurement error in assessing daily salt intake, confounding factors not controlled for, and reverse causality». The named mechanisms are exactly The U-Shaped Association Artifact’s recipe — so the hypothesis that the low-intake arm is artifact is now on the record with mechanism. But this is a partisan critique (He/MacGregor are CASH/WASH advocates) and, decisively, it is only a critique — no referent-corrected or Mendelian-randomization analysis of the low-intake arm, which is the strong check that concept requires. So He argues the arm away; he does not adjudicate it. (He et al., 2013)

The AWAITS narrows but stays open. PURE (Mente 2016) has now landed — see the direct-hard-outcome section below — but it is a pole in the dispute, not the confounder-immune adjudicator this hold seeks: it reports the J directly on hard outcomes yet ran only the weak checks (exclude early events, exclude prevalent CVD/HTN/diabetes), never a referent-correction or a genetic/MR instrument on the low arm. So the hold still AWAITS a source that adjudicates the low arm with a confounder-immune method (a referent-correction, a Mendelian-randomization instrument on the low-intake arm, or a large long-term RCT of sodium level rather than reduction) — the post-2011 observational literature (PURE, the Cochrane and Graudal lines) supplies more poles, not the adjudication. The joined-issue write-up is Should Sodium Reduction Be Population-Wide or Targeted.

A third major body encodes the split as uncertainty rather than resolving it [2026-08-04, Afshin GBD 2017]. The GBD 2017 dietary-risks analysis needed an optimal sodium level to compute attributable burden, and rather than pick one it published the RCT-vs-observational disagreement as a deliberately wide band:

«To reflect the uncertainty in existing evidence on optimal level of intake for sodium, 1—5 g per day was considered as the uncertainty range for the optimal level of sodium where less than 2·3 g per day is the intake level of sodium associated with the lowest level of blood pressure in randomised controlled trials and 4—5 g per day is the level of sodium intake associated with the lowest risk of cardiovascular disease in observational studies.» (Afshin et al., 2019)

This is the exact split this section holds, seen from the modelling side. The BP-minimising intake (RCTs, <2.3 g) and the CVD-minimising intake (observational, 4-5 g) point to different optima, which is what a J-curve on the hard outcome would produce — and GBD, an independent consortium with no salt-advocacy stake, does not adjudicate it either: it widens the uncertainty to 1-5 g and carries both. So the corpus now holds three postures on the low-intake arm — WHO (names it, cannot answer), He/MacGregor (rebut it from advocacy, no strong check), GBD (encode it as uncertainty) — and none runs the confounder-immune adjudication. GBD corroborates unprobed, not disproved; it does not close the gap -> The U-Shaped Association Artifact. (inferred from Afshin et al., 2019)

The hard-outcome RCT arrives — but on a confounded (Na-down + K-up) exposure [2026-08-04, Neal SSaSS]

This page’s central gap was that hard outcomes sit at very low certainty (all cohort evidence, the surrogate-transfer doing the work). SSaSS (Neal 2021, NEJM) is the large RCT with patient-important outcomes — but it tests a potassium-enriched salt substitute (75% NaCl / 25% KCl), so it moves two exposures at once and its benefit cannot be attributed to sodium reduction alone.

What it found (open-label cluster-RCT, 600 rural-China villages, 20,995 people with prior stroke or age >=60 + high BP, 4.74 y follow-up; events adjudicated blind to assignment):

OutcomeSalt sub vs regular (per 1000 py)Rate ratio (95% CI)Absolute
Stroke (primary)29.14 vs 33.650.86 (0.77-0.96), P=0.006−4.5 / 1000 py
Major adverse CV events49.09 vs 56.290.87 (0.80-0.94), P<0.001−7.2 / 1000 py
All-cause death39.28 vs 44.610.88 (0.82-0.95), P<0.001−5.3 / 1000 py

(Neal et al., 2021)

The achieved contrast: 24h urinary sodium −15.2 mmol (−350 mg), potassium +20.6 mmol (+803 mg), SBP −3.34 mmHg (−4.51 to −2.18). (Neal et al., 2021)

Why this is the decision-relevant caveat, not a footnote. The intervention raised potassium more than it cut sodium (+20.6 vs −15.2 mmol), and the authors state both exposures «independently lower blood pressure and… have synergistic effects». So SSaSS is strong evidence that a salt substitute reduces stroke, CV events and death in a high-risk stratum — it is not clean evidence that sodium reduction per se delivers that benefit. The corpus’s cleanest hard-outcome sodium RCT is therefore a joint Na:K lever, which is exactly the joint target both this page and Potassium Intake and Blood Pressure flag as un-adjudicated — SSaSS adjudicates the lever, not either electrolyte separately. (inferred from Neal et al., 2021)

The absolute benefit rides on high baseline risk (route-a). These are large absolute effects (−4.5 to −7.2 events per 1000 person-years) because the population is extreme: 72.6% prior stroke, mean BP 154/89, mean age 65. The ~12-14% relative reductions may transport to a lower-risk stratum, but the absolute benefit shrinks with baseline risk — a lean, normotensive, low-stroke-risk person gets a far smaller absolute effect from the same switch. This is Baseline Risk and the Relative-Absolute Split applied: SSaSS earns a strong recommendation for its own stratum, not a universal one. (inferred from Neal et al., 2021)

The lower-arm / contraindication stratum (route-c) — reassuring but scoped. The safety worry for a K-raising intervention is hyperkalaemia. SSaSS found no excess (3.35 vs 3.30 per 1000 py; RR 1.04, 0.80-1.37; P=0.76) and no excess sudden death — but it excluded known serious kidney disease, potassium-sparing diuretics and K-supplements by history, did no biochemical renal prescreening, and did not measure serum potassium serially. So the safety reassurance holds for the screened population; CKD / impaired potassium excretion remains a real harm-firing stratum where a salt substitute is contraindicated (concordant with the route-c boundary on Potassium Intake and Blood Pressure). (Neal et al., 2021)

The events slightly exceed what the measured BP fall predicts — a recurring pattern. Via Blood Pressure Lowering and Cardiovascular Events (BPLTTC: ~13% stroke reduction per 5 mmHg SBP), a −3.34 mmHg fall predicts a stroke RR near 0.91; SSaSS observed 0.86. The observed benefit outruns the BP-channel prediction — the same excess Potassium Intake and Blood Pressure found for potassium’s cohort stroke effect. Three non-exclusive reasons: (i) a BP-independent electrolyte effect (potassium); (ii) the measured −3.34 mmHg understates the sustained effect (adherence dilution + a single-day recovery-biomarker + Huang’s short-trial underestimate — the page’s lower-bound reading); (iii) noise in a single subgroup measurement. Direction is corroborated; the exact split between sodium, potassium and dilution is not identified by this trial. (Blood Pressure Lowering Treatment Trialists Collaboration, 2021; inferred from Neal et al., 2021)

PURE lands the J directly on hard outcomes — a pole, not the adjudicator [2026-08-27, Mente 2016]

The gap this page kept flagging — nobody measures the low arm directly on hard outcomes — is now directly measured, but by an observational study that is itself a pole in the dispute rather than the confounder-immune adjudicator. Mente 2016 pooled 133,118 people (63,559 hypertensive / 69,559 non-hypertensive) from 49 countries across three cohorts (PURE + ONTARGET/TRANSCEND + EPIDREAM), >10,000 events, median 4.2 y follow-up; composite outcome = all-cause death + major CVD event, with 4-5 g/day sodium as the lowest-risk reference. (Mente et al., 2016)

The headline is effect-modification BY hypertension (route-b), on a significant interaction test (P for heterogeneity = 0.0342 for the composite; 0.0135 for death; 0.0432 for major CVD). The stratified HRs vs the 4-5 g/day referent:

Stratum<3 g/day (low arm)>7 g/day (high arm)
HypertensiveHR 1.34 (1.23-1.47), p<0.0001HR 1.23 (1.11-1.37), p<0.0001
Non-hypertensiveHR 1.26 (1.10-1.45), p=0.0009HR 0.90 (0.76-1.08), p=0.25 (NS)

(Mente et al., 2016)

Two distinct shapes: the low-arm harm is present in BOTH strata (and survives BP adjustment — low-arm HR 1.35 [1.23-1.49] in hypertensives, still p=0.0011 in non-hypertensives — so Mente reads it as not BP-mediated), while the high-arm harm is confined to hypertensives (flat/null in normotensives). Only ~10% of the pooled population had both hypertension and >6 g/day, which is the entire basis for Mente’s targeting conclusion — reduce sodium only in high-intake hypertensives, not population-wide. (Mente et al., 2016)

The BP slope is itself hypertension-modified (systolic mmHg per g sodium: hypertensives 2.08 [1.96-2.21] vs non-hypertensives 1.22 [1.13-1.30]; P<0.0001 for interaction) — concordant with the salt-sensitivity gradient this page holds, and it makes the high-arm stratification mechanistically coherent. But it does not explain the low-arm harm, which is where the artifact question lives. (Mente et al., 2016)

Why PURE is a pole and not the adjudication this page’s AWAITS seeks. The exposure is a single fasting morning midstream urine run through the Kawasaki formula to estimate 24h sodium (validated ICC ~0.70 vs a 24h collection; regression-dilution corrected from 30-90-day repeats in 448 people). That is a one-day recovery biomarker, and its error is largest at the extremes — exactly where the J-arms sit — so a flat true relationship can be bent into a U by unequal measurement error alone, with no confounder and no reverse causation, and it would pass the checks Mente ran -> Measurement Error in Dietary Assessment, The U-Shaped Association Artifact. Mente ran only the weak artifact checks (exclude events in the first 2 years; exclude in turn those with known CVD/hypertension/diabetes; exclude anti-hypertensive users) — the pattern held — but ran no referent-correction and no genetic/Mendelian-randomization instrument on the low arm, which is the strong check The U-Shaped Association Artifact requires. Mente himself concedes observational analysis cannot prove causality and calls for large long-term RCTs of sodium level. So the low arm is directly observed but still unadjudicated — the [PRIOR] on the U-shaped artifact does not close here. (inferred from Mente et al., 2016)

The observed-vs-modelled discordance is the study’s sharpest single result. Mente built a simulation projecting CVD risk from sodium assuming the effect runs only through systolic BP, then compared it to the directly-observed HRs. The two diverge most at <3 g/day: the BP-only model predicts lower risk as sodium falls, while the observed data show rising risk — the exact discordance a hidden low-arm artifact would also produce, so it is evidence that BP-mediation is incomplete OR that the low arm is contaminated, and the study cannot separate those. This is why the WHO/He surrogate-transfer chain (sodium -> BP -> CVD, assumed monotone) and PURE’s direct observation give opposite signs below 3 g/day. The full joined-issue analysis is Should Sodium Reduction Be Population-Wide or Targeted. (inferred from Mente et al., 2016)

What is absent

  • Absolute effects entirely. No per-1000, no risk differences, no baseline risk, no NNT. The mmHg figures are absolute in units but never translated to outcome risk. So this recommendation cannot be ranked against any other exposure in the fabric (telos layer 1).
  • A numeric “threshold of relevance” — the criterion driving every imprecision downgrade is defined only qualitatively and never operationalized for any outcome.
  • Salt sensitivity / hyperresponders — the terms do not occur. The hypertensive/normotensive split above is the closest the document comes.
  • Sodium:potassium ratio — explicitly out of scope, while asserting that following this guideline plus the potassium guideline yields “approximately one to one, which is considered beneficial for health”, sourced to a 2003 expert consultation rather than to evidence graded here. The potassium half is now heldPotassium Intake and Blood Pressure (WHO’s companion Aburto 2013 SR+MA) — and it is the same WHO/CASH lineage, so the two are two arms of one programme, not independent witnesses; the Na:K ratio itself stays un-adjudicated on both pages (asserted 1:1-beneficial, never graded against a hard outcome). Note the asymmetry: sodium reduction lowers BP in normotensives too, potassium raising does not (its normotensive effect is a flat zero).
  • Any low- or middle-income-country evidence. All RCTs were run in Australia, Europe, North America and New Zealand; cohorts in Europe, Japan and the USA. The PICO setting is “All countries” and transportability is never discussed — while the guideline’s stated motivation is LMIC-framed.

(inferred from World Health Organization, 2012)

Sodium is one BP lever among several — the DASH pattern lowers BP independently of it [2026-08-07, Siervo]

Sodium reduction is not the only dietary BP lever. The DASH pattern lowers SBP by -5.2 mmHg (-7.0, -3.4) vs control in a 20-RCT MA — and Siervo’s meta-regression finds the between-arm sodium difference does not predict that BP change (SBP P=0.67), so DASH’s effect is carried by the whole pattern (K, Ca, Mg, fibre, nitrate, low SFA), not by its incidental sodium contrast -> DASH Diet and Blood Pressure. (Siervo et al., 2014)

Decision consequence — do NOT double-count. DASH’s -5.2 mmHg and this page’s sodium-reduction effect (He -4.18, WHO -3.39) are different exposures against different comparators, not two independent additive channels, so they cannot be summed. They do stack when deliberately combined (the DASH-Sodium factorial shows salt restriction adds to DASH), but that is a stacking of two applied interventions, not an attribution of DASH’s own effect to sodium. (inferred from Siervo et al., 2014)

Limits

  • 2012; self-dated for review “by the end of 2017”. The post-2011 sodium controversy is by construction outside it.
  • Three of the four underpinning systematic reviews are unpublished WHO in-house documents with no journal or URL, so study lists, risk-of-bias assessments and heterogeneity statistics are not verifiable from this document alone.
  • The guideline’s evidence-state vocabulary has three states (conclusive-of-benefit/harm, conclusive-of-no-effect, inconclusive) and the middle one requires the threshold it never specifies. WHO does exercise the conclusive-of-no-effect state — the tempting reading that it never does is wrong: total cholesterol and plasma noradrenaline are rated high and explicitly “did not cross threshold of relevance of benefit or harm”, with Annex 8 carrying “High-quality evidence that decreasing sodium has no harmful effect on blood lipids, catecholamine levels, renal function or any minor side effects (e.g. headache and dizziness) in adults.” It is used on the adverse-effect outcomes, and scoped to adults. What the guideline does not do is apply it to the efficacy outcomes — those stay “inconclusive” in the body and reappear as “no association” in the Executive summary, which is the four-states error the telos names.

(inferred from World Health Organization, 2012)

The exposure measure here is in a different class from the rest of the corpus [2026-07-28, Willett ch.8]

Almost every dietary exposure the wiki holds is measured by food-frequency questionnaire. Sodium is not. Van Dam & Hunter classify urinary sodium as a recovery biomarker — one of only four they name, alongside urinary nitrogen, urinary potassium and doubly-labelled-water energy:

«In addition to urinary nitrogen, urinary potassium, urinary sodium, and energy intake estimated using the doubly labeled water technique are recovery biomarkers.» (Willett, 2012)

A recovery biomarker has «a quantitative relationship… between values for the biomarker and dietary intake in a specific time period», so it yields absolute intake rather than a ranking. Full taxonomy and its consequences: Measurement Error in Dietary Assessment.

What this does and does not buy.

  • It removes one error source, not the others. Design, confounding and outcome ascertainment are untouched. This page’s certainty split — high on blood pressure, very low on hard outcomes — is unaffected, and nothing here upgrades it.
  • It does not solve day-to-day variation. A 24-hour urine measures one day, and a single day is a poor estimate of habitual intake for any nutrient. Recovery fixes calibration; it does not fix within-person variability, and the two are independent problems.
  • What it does buy is that a sodium threshold is auditable in a way most are not. Chapter 4’s division — questionnaires for ranking, records or recalls for absolute magnitude when «comparing nutrient intakes with specific dietary recommendations» — is the general obstacle to checking a person against a cutpoint. Sodium escapes it, because an absolute intake can be measured directly. WHO’s «<2 g/day sodium» is therefore one of the few guidance numbers in this corpus a person could actually be measured against. (inferred from Willett, 2012; World Health Organization, 2012)

A second guidance family on the same stratification — and it is NOT a second witness [2026-07-28, ESC]

ESC reports the same hypertensive/normotensive split this page already holds from WHO:

«A reduction in sodium intake may reduce SBP by, on average, 5.8 mmHg in hypertensive, and 1.9 mmHg in normotensive patients.» (European Society of Cardiology, 2021)

Parameter table (op-weave 2a) — built because the surface agreement is striking:

ParameterWHO 2012ESC 2021Same quantity?
Hypertensive SBP reduction4.06 mmHg (2.96-5.15), 24 studies5.8 mmHgNO — ESC states no dose
Normotensive SBP reduction1.38 mmHg (0.02-2.74), 6 studies1.9 mmHgNO — same reason
Ratio hypertensive : normotensive2.943.05comparable — both are internal ratios, so the missing dose cancels
Sodium reduction assumedspecified in WHO’s analysisnot stated in this sentence
Uncertaintyintervals givennone givenno

The magnitudes are not comparable and the ratio is. ESC’s sentence attaches no dose, so its 5.8 and 1.9 cannot be set against WHO’s 4.06 and 1.38 — a larger assumed reduction would produce larger numbers with no disagreement at all. What survives the dose problem is the internal ratio, because the unstated dose divides out of it: 2.94 against 3.05. Two guidance families, a decade apart, on a roughly 3:1 hypertensive-to-normotensive gradient.

That agreement is NOT independent backing, and the check is what shows it

Both trace to the same investigators. ESC’s cited source for this sentence is He FJ, Tan M, Ma Y, MacGregor GA (JACC 2020), and He FJ / MacGregor GA studies sit inside WHO’s own cited evidence base. So the convergence runs through one research group’s primary work reaching two guideline committees.

He 2013 is that lineage’s own primary meta-analysis, and it gives a THIRD estimate of the same ratio: 2.23 (SBP -5.39 hypertensive / -2.42 normotensive) — against WHO’s 2.94 and ESC’s 3.05. So the corpus now holds three ~2-3:1 hypertensive-to-normotensive gradients, all from the same He/MacGregor lineage — which is why none is an independent witness to another. Three numbers on one gradient is a robustness of that group’s finding, not cross-group convergence; the spread (2.23-3.05) reflects different pooled sets and unstated doses, not three independent confirmations. (inferred from He et al., 2013) (Not the stronger claim that both bodies pooled the identical study set — WHO’s actual pooled lists are in unpublished in-house reviews this page’s Limits calls unverifiable; see the width-of-claim note below.)

No [E-independent] is claimable here. Every surface marker points the wrong way — different body, different continent, different decade, near-identical ratio — and the substantive marker is absent. This is the laundering trap in its textbook form, and it was caught by checking the reference rather than by the numbers looking suspicious. (inferred from European Society of Cardiology, 2021; World Health Organization, 2012)

Stated at the width the evidence supports: what is established is shared primary-study lineage, not that the two pooled estimates were computed from identical study sets. The wiki has not established that, and the differing magnitudes suggest they were not.

What ESC adds that WHO does not have

  • A hard-outcome magnitude for a stated dose: «In a meta-analysis, salt reduction of 2.5 g/day resulted in a 20% reduction of ASCVD events (RR 0.80).» This page’s central gap is that hard outcomes sit at very low certainty, and ESC supplies a figure — but from the same He/MacGregor source, so it does not raise certainty, and ESC attaches no certainty rating to it.
  • The gap between intake and target, quantified: «In most Western countries, salt intake is high (9-10 g/day), whereas the recommended maximum intake is 5 g/day.» A halving, population-wide — which is an adherence fact, not an efficacy one, and belongs in any realistic reading of what the recommendation asks. (European Society of Cardiology, 2021)

A blood-pressure number is not a blood-pressure number [2026-07-28, ESC chunk 05]

This page’s outcome is SBP, and it already carries a puzzle: WHO’s pooled resting SBP effect is 3.39 mmHg while its ambulatory SBP effect is 5.51 mmHg — the ambulatory figure is larger than the resting one, on the same exposure. ESC supplies the mechanism.

White-coat hypertension is common and carries intermediate risk:

«It occurs in up to 30-40% of patients. The risk associated with white-coat hyperten- sion is lower than sustained hypertension but may be higher than normotension.» (European Society of Cardiology, 2021)

So office/resting measurement misclassifies a large minority, in a direction that adds variance uncorrelated with the exposure. An intervention effect measured against a noisier, upward-contaminated baseline attenuates, which is the expected direction of the WHO resting-vs-ambulatory gap. (inferred from European Society of Cardiology, 2021; World Health Organization, 2012)

ESC applies a measurement correction to SPRINT’s headline number

«the even lower SBP in the intensively treated group in SPRINT (Systolic Blood Pressure Intervention Trial) (mean 124 mmHg) probably reflects a conventional office SBP range of 130-139 mmHg» (European Society of Cardiology, 2021)

A landmark trial’s most-quoted number is restated as 130-139 in the units a clinic actually uses — a shift of roughly 6-15 mmHg, larger than the entire sodium effect this page reports. The trial is not wrong; the number is method-specific, and reading it against a conventional office reading is a same-quantity error of the exact kind the parameter-table rule exists to catch.

The consequence for this page, stated at the right width: any BP figure — WHO’s 3.39, ESC’s 5.8/1.9, a personal reading — carries an implicit measurement method, and the methods are not interchangeable. This does not impeach any figure held here. It means a threshold and a measured value must share a method before they can be compared, and none of the sources this page holds states its method in the same breath as its number.

AWAITS a source specifying the BP measurement protocol behind WHO’s pooled estimates — that is what would let this page say whether its central figure is an office, resting-standardised or ambulatory quantity. The wiki cannot currently say which.

A third guidance family sets a slightly laxer chronic-disease limit — NNR2023 [2026-08-27, NNR revisit]

NNR2023 is a third guidance family on the sodium -> BP -> CVD chain (after WHO and ESC), and it lands on a modestly higher chronic-disease-reduction intake than WHO. It carries two distinct sodium numbers, on two different curves:

  • AI (adequate intake) 1.5 g/day sodium — the deficiency-side population reference value (~3.75 g salt): «(EFSA, 2019b; NASEM, 2019), the AI in NNR2023 is set to 1.5 g sodium per day» … «(females and males), which corresponds to 3.75 g salt per day.» (Nordic Council of Ministers, 2023)
  • CDRR (chronic-disease-risk-reduction) limit 2.3 g/day sodium (~5.75 g salt), adapting NASEM: «(CDRR) of 2.3 g/d are expected to reduce chronic disease risk within the general population. NNR2023 thus adapts the reasoning from NASEM to recommend limiting intake to 2.3 g/d (about 5.75 g salt).» (Nordic Council of Ministers, 2023)

Parameter table (op-weave 2a) — WHO target vs NNR CDRR, matched:

ParameterWHO 2012NNR2023Same quantity?
Chronic-disease-reduction sodium ceiling<2 g/day (5 g salt), strong<=2.3 g/day (5.75 g salt), CDRRYES — both a chronic-disease-reduction intake ceiling
Deficiency-side referencenot set (the guideline is a reduction target)AI 1.5 g/day (3.75 g salt)NO — different construct

The divergence is real but small, and it is a threshold-pick difference on a shared evidence base, not a disagreement about the curve. NNR endorses the same linear BP dose-response WHO does — «Sodium restriction down to a sodium intake level of less than 2 g/d decreases blood pressure linearly by a dose-response manner» and «Interventional studies confirm the efficiency and safety of reducing sodium intake to a level of less than 2 g/d (Jula, 2023).» (Nordic Council of Ministers, 2023) — yet sets its recommended CDRR ceiling at 2.3 g/d following NASEM rather than at WHO’s <2 g/d. So the ~0.3 g/d gap is where each body drew the policy line, not a difference in the underlying slope.

This is NOT independent backing. NNR2023 is a guideline synthesis resting on the qSR/NASEM/EFSA evidence base (its CDRR is explicitly adapted from NASEM), which overlaps the same primary evidence WHO distilled — so it is a guidance-family confirmation of direction while choosing a slightly laxer number (telos divergence class 1: a population-standpoint threshold pick), not a second independent witness. No [E-independent]; the surrogate-high / hard-outcome-very-low reading is unchanged. (inferred from Nordic Council of Ministers, 2023)

References

Afshin, A., Sur, P. J., Fay, K. A., Cornaby, L., Ferrara, G., Salama, J. S., Mullany, E. C., Abate, K. H., Abbafati, C., Abebe, Z., Afarideh, M., Aggarwal, A., Agrawal, S., Akinyemiju, T., Alahdab, F., Bacha, U., Bachman, V. F., Badali, H., Badawi, A., … Murray, C. J. L. (2019). Health effects of dietary risks in 195 countries, 1990–2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. The Lancet, 393(10184), 1958–1972. https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(19)30041-8
Blood Pressure Lowering Treatment Trialists Collaboration. (2021). Pharmacological blood pressure lowering for primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease across different levels of blood pressure: an individual participant-level data meta-analysis. The Lancet, 397(10285), 1625–1636. https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(21)00590-0
European Society of Cardiology. (2021). 2021 ESC Guidelines on cardiovascular disease prevention in clinical practice. European Heart Journal, 42(34), 3227–3337. https://doi.org/10.1093/eurheartj/ehab484
He, F. J., Li, J., & MacGregor, G. A. (2013). Effect of longer term modest salt reduction on blood pressure: Cochrane systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised trials. BMJ, 346(apr03 3), f1325–f1325. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.f1325
Huang, L., Trieu, K., Yoshimura, S., Neal, B., Woodward, M., Campbell, N. R. C., Li, Q., Lackland, D. T., Leung, A. A., Anderson, C. A. M., MacGregor, G. A., & He, F. J. (2020). Effect of dose and duration of reduction in dietary sodium on blood pressure levels: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised trials. BMJ, m315. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.m315
Mente, A., O’Donnell, M., Rangarajan, S., Dagenais, G., Lear, S., McQueen, M., Diaz, R., Avezum, A., Lopez-Jaramillo, P., Lanas, F., Li, W., Lu, Y., Yi, S., Rensheng, L., Iqbal, R., Mony, P., Yusuf, R., Yusoff, K., Szuba, A., … Yusuf, S. (2016). Associations of urinary sodium excretion with cardiovascular events in individuals with and without hypertension: a pooled analysis of data from four studies. The Lancet, 388(10043), 465–475. https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(16)30467-6
Neal, B., Wu, Y., Feng, X., Zhang, R., Zhang, Y., Shi, J., Zhang, J., Tian, M., Huang, L., Li, Z., Yu, Y., Zhao, Y., Zhou, B., Sun, J., Liu, Y., Yin, X., Hao, Z., Yu, J., Li, K.-C., … Elliott, P. (2021). Effect of Salt Substitution on Cardiovascular Events and Death. New England Journal of Medicine, 385(12), 1067–1077. https://doi.org/10.1056/nejmoa2105675
Nordic Council of Ministers. (2023). Nordic Nutrition Recommendations 2023: Integrating Environmental Aspects. https://pub.norden.org/nord2023-003/
Siervo, M., Lara, J., Chowdhury, S., Ashor, A., Oggioni, C., & Mathers, J. C. (2014). Effects of the Dietary Approach to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet on cardiovascular risk factors: a systematic review and meta-analysis. British Journal of Nutrition, 113(1), 1–15. https://doi.org/10.1017/s0007114514003341
Willett, W. (2012). Nutritional Epidemiology. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199754038.001.0001
World Health Organization. (2012). Guideline: Sodium intake for adults and children. https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/9789241504836
World Health Organization. (2023). Saturated fatty acid and trans-fatty acid intake for adults and children: WHO guideline. https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/9789240073630